The Constructal Law

This forum is for anything that doesn't specifically have to do with Better Than Wolves
abculatter_2

The Constructal Law

Post by abculatter_2 »

So, I started reading a book recently, which proposes a law (The Constructal Law) that applies to all things which have any form of movement. This law states that all things which have movement (which I will henceforth call 'flow systems', as you can consider movement to be the flow of energy/mass through a system/thing) will, over time, inevitably evolve to facilitate additional and/or more efficient movement. While it is of course not the only example, a good example that the book repeats often is the flowing of a river across the landscape; Over time, the river erodes the soil, increasing its flow rate and shaping itself to increase the efficiency of its flow in its given situation.

Then I started playing BTW, and it got me thinking about how the above law might apply to game design and, tangentially, to human happiness in general, and I came up with a hypothesis;

Happiness evolved in humans primarily to facilitate their flow across their environment/their lives, via providing incentives to increase this flow's rate and/or efficiency. Therefore, it would make sense that the things which are more likely to make us the most happy, are the things which give us a sense of flow, or movement.

Additionally, as the Constructal Law is a law to which thermodynamics applies, this means that the laws of thermodynamics can be applied usefully to game design, and in particular one can think of games as a flow system which, over time and, in particular, in the time that the game is played, will accumulate some form of entropy, which means that one can apply the toolset of entropy minimization to make useful predictions and decisions in design.

I'm not sure how much this makes sense, or how well I expressed what I was trying to convey, but I figured you guys might find this idea interesting.