4x Games

This forum is for anything that doesn't specifically have to do with Better Than Wolves
kazerima

4x Games

Post by kazerima »

I started playing 4x games about 2 years ago with the rather lightweight Endless Space, before moving on the Civilization V, Galactic Civilization III, and more recently Stellaris. While I've enjoyed elements of each of them, I'd like to know which games in the genre everyone here is more interested in, and maybe talk about some design elements or help me decide my next purchase.

Endless Space was pretty simple compared to the others, making it a good genre entry point for me at the time, but after a while things started to feel a bit predictable and the Simon-like tech tree was getting a bit cramped. Game play boiled down to picking my victory condition and Simon slice, then relentlessly pursuing it with occasional dips into the others as needed. The best parts were the different strategic options presented before each battle, giving me more than Produce # of Unit Type X to manage combat, and the diverse racial options that felt distinct but not overwhelming. Ship design was also a fun mini-game that helped me keep some replay after the game started to lose depth. It was a nice transition from Starcraft II at the time and kept me occupied most of the summer before I wanted something a bit more complex.