FTL: Advanced Edition

This forum is for anything that doesn't specifically have to do with Better Than Wolves
agentwiggles

FTL: Advanced Edition

Post by agentwiggles »

I know there's other people here being consumed by the heroin-like addiction FTL can cause, made much more intense by the recent release of the FREE Advanced Edition expansion. Anyone have any thoughts on the new expansion? I'm really enjoying it, having recently become readdicted to FTL. Two weeks after I started playing again, this expansion dropped, and shook things up in the best possible way.

For those unaware, the expansion adds a new race, the Lanius, and a bunch of new weapons, systems, drones, ship layouts, and events. I've been toying around with the new content today for the first time and I'm super impressed by how well all the new things fit in.

The Lanius ship is great fun, and a good way to get exposed to a bunch of new content in one play. The Lanius drain oxygen from whichever room they're in, and don't suffer suffocation damage, so you have to be careful with them on your ship, but they make ridiculously mean boarders. It comes with two of the new systems, too - the clone bay, which replaces the med bay and revives dead crew members with a skill penalty, and the hacking system, whihc replaces drones, and can be attached to the various enemy systems to confer the ability to disrupt them temporarily (drain weapon or shield charge, freeze drones, even cause the medbay to damage enemies within).

I'm not sure about the clone bay, I think the med bay is better - I'm used to managing my crew such that they aren't killed so I don't see it being super useful. I think the hacking system is really cool and has huge potential.

Anyone else?
Ribky

Re: FTL: Advanced Edition

Post by Ribky »