Custom Map for BTW - Seeking Input

This forum is for anything that doesn't specifically have to do with Better Than Wolves
Mud

Custom Map for BTW - Seeking Input

Post by Mud »

I did a few small scale maps for vMC before I started playing BTW. I really enjoyed developing them and I'd like to make a larger one specifically for playing with BTW. I'm hoping for any input on things to kept in mind while designing this world so that it flows with the mod rather than clashing with it.

Few notes:
  • Abandoned Villages & Looted Temples will have to be placed manually by me, but I will be upholding the HCSpawn radius in this world.
  • Biomes will be grouped together by temperature, transitions will be more subtle.
  • Biome size will be between Large Biome and default.
  • I do not plan to include alternative/easier ways of acquiring precious resources (Enchanting Tables/Brewing Stands/Vessels/Wheat/etc.)
  • Sponges will be naturally occurring.
  • There will be no custom Nether or End, they will be generated by default world gen.
  • Likewise, caves, Dungeons, Mine Shafts and Strongholds will be generated by default world gen, I will only really have control over the design of the surface world.
Some things I'd like input on
  • Size; I've never used the nether for long distance travel, and I would like to design a map that allows for this.
  • I am considering adding additional small surface structures with rewards similar to dungeons found a shallow-to-mid-level striations, these structures would reference/pay homage to well known members of this board.
  • I've thought about starting the player off in a temperate biome and making the furthest points of the maps the most extreme (tundras/deserts)
  • I have no idea how to handle HCStratification, was there ever a tool to convert existing worlds released that I don't know about?
  • Anything else you have to share.
Thoughts?
Rianaru

Re: Custom Map for BTW - Seeking Input

Post by Rianaru »