My Playthrough

A place to talk to other users about the mod.
BobSlingblade679

My Playthrough

Post by BobSlingblade679 »

So, I decided to try my hand at writing. I have zero experience, so don't expect much, but below is what I've got so far. Any criticism would be appreciated, but I hope you guys at least enjoy it a little.

----------------------------------------------------------------

I awake in a forest.

My last memory is of foolishly crossing an ocean in a small boat. I thought I could make it; I set out in the morning. I had plenty of rations and enough materials for a quick shelter once I reached the other side. I had travelled all day with no land in sight. The ocean proved to be larger than I expected. Night fell and the squids rose. I could hear them splashing behind me as I paddled as fast and straight as I could, hoping to outrun them. I was certain there were at least ten splashing and thrashing behind me, trying to catch up, but it seemed to be working. My boat seemed to be faster than them.

This is what hopes gets me. I had a good home. I had found a ruined town. Restored it. Erected defenses. I could have stayed there. Yes, the venomous spiders from the neighboring jungle were terrifying, but I found a way to keep them out. I suppose I spent at least a month there, but over time, I grew lonesome. I longed for another human face. Someone to talk to. I began to think, maybe - just maybe - there were others like me somewhere. Maybe whatever destroyed this town was an isolated event. Perhaps they had simply moved. Maybe they didn’t move far. Of course, I had no idea which direction they might have gone, if indeed, they had survived and simply migrated. It was a big leap to just pick a direction and start walking, but I had hope. Hope is foolish..