Your worst BTW starts

A place to talk to other users about the mod.
HighMongrel

Your worst BTW starts

Post by HighMongrel »

After a long break I just started playing BTW again but since my old worlds were all pretty developed I decided to go at it again from the beginning. In turn I was greeted with the worst string of poor spawn luck I've ever had.

-I started underwater deep enough to have the gloom status effect

-Upon surfacing I find that I'm in the middle of the ocean with only one small 4 block tree on a small island in sight

-First respawn after death by squid while looking for more land/wood put me back on the small island I started near

-2nd respawn put me in a jungle and after I died a couple of times to jungle spiders I spawned on a beach with only jungle in sight

-I manage to skirt the edge of the jungle to get enough wood to build my first two wood pickaxes when I get killed by a skeleton setting off a death spiral until my next hardcore respawn

-Get a decent spawn, go for a pretty standard start, end up falling into a sinkhole while hunting on the beach

-I escape and head back to my little stone cave to start digging out enough stone for a furnace but while digging I found out it was a new moon and I couldn't find my craft bench, so I end up death spiraling until I spawn on top of a tree with only a bit left of night

Luckily, I managed to hold of my death enough that my items didn't despawn once morning came and I made my way back. Now I'm in a decent enough spot with a bonus of finding some exploded animal meat and incredibly weakened cows to take advantage of. I just have to make sure I deal with the wolves nearby appropriately. I'm somewhat dreading trying to get back to spawn eventually though.

Anyone else have any stories of particularly bad starts and what you tried/failed to deal with them?
FlowerChild
Site Admin

Re: Your worst BTW starts

Post by FlowerChild »