Mob Traps

A place to talk to other users about the mod.
myrkana

Mob Traps

Post by myrkana »

In the year I've played btw I've never made a mob trap bigger than a small 5x5 with 2 saws for killing :/ how do you go about making a really effective one using pre-end tech? Anyone have some mob farm photos I can look at or some links explaining how to make one?

any help is appreciated as I'm a complete mob trap noob >...>
Rawr :D
Western-Knight

Re: Mob Traps

Post by Western-Knight »

I like a large checkerboard-style spawning area with cobble and vine-trap holes above a large waterflow leading into your killing area. Can be almost any size/dimension you want and it's simple.

If that design's been made obsolete by a recent update I apologize.
A knight without armor in a savage land.
whitechaos35

Post by whitechaos35 »

I posted this image in the EmeraldCrack thread.
Spoiler
Show
Like Western-Knight, I like a simple checkerboard layered trap.
Yhetti

Post by Yhetti »

whitechaos35 wrote:snip
This is how I normally do mine, but I never put pillars, may I ask, why the pillars?
erikdk321

Post by erikdk321 »

Making it wide is more important than making it tall since chunks also have a mobcap, i normally dont make checkerboard patterns because spiders gets stuck.
FlowerChild
Site Admin

Post by FlowerChild »

erikdk321 wrote:Making it wide is more important than making it tall since chunks also have a mobcap
Errrr...can you please backup statements like that? You seem to be falling into a nasty habit of creating false rumors about how the mod and/or MC work by stating your personal assumptions as fact.

I've never seen *any* indication in the code that there is any chunk-based spawn cap, and by now, I'm more than a little familiar with how it works.
whitechaos35

Post by whitechaos35 »

Yhetti wrote:
This is how I normally do mine, but I never put pillars, may I ask, why the pillars?